My Five Favorite Books From My Childhood

1. Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
I only came to know about the Anne of Green Gables series due to the  adaptation starring Megan Follows as Anne. I became enchanted with the world of Anne and quickly bought the entire series. Also, Gilbert Blythe became one of my fictional boy crushes.

Gilbertblythe

Jonathan Crombie as Gilbert Blythe. Ultimate Book Boyfriend

Anne_dvd

2. A Little Princess by Francis Hodgson Burnett
A Little Princess was my ultimate favorite childhood book. I would read it over and over again. I wanted to be Sara Crewe.

3. Fairy Tales by Various Authors
I loved fairy tales as a child from Charles Perrault to The Brothers Grimm. I remember having a tame version of fairy tales, which I toted around with me. One birthday, I received the Complete Brothers Grimm and was blown away with how gruesome these fairy tales actually are. Needless, to say I loved it.

4. Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak
My favorite picture book of all time has to be Where The Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak. It only has 338 words, but it sure packed in a punch for me as a kid.

Where_The_Wild_Things_Are_(book)_cover

5. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
I first read Jane Eyre when I was about 10. Most of the things that were happening in the book, I’m sure went over my head (Ex. Mr. Rochester almost committing bigamy). But, I loved Jane and Mr. Rochester.

Toby Stephens and Ruth Wilson as Mr. Rochester & Jane Eyre. (2006 Mini-Series Version)

Leave a Reply

